Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
#91634 01/12/03 02:44 PM
V
vika Offline OP
OP Offline
V
as some of you may know I am a biologist and I work as a Research Fellow. I always have difficulties filling questionnaires where I asked to define my occupation. AFAIK "a professional" means a doctor, a lawyer or a teacher. I am a doctor but not medical doctor. My qualifications include "teacher of biology and chemistry" but I do not teach I work in a laboratory.
Am I a professional ?

#91635 01/12/03 03:40 PM
W
wwh Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
W
Dear Vika: You are very much a professional. You have diplomas to prove you are not just
an amateur or dilettante. Some people use "professional" to mean that they earn a living
from some skill, as an athlete who gets paid for performing.

#91636 01/12/03 04:22 PM
M
old hand
old hand
M
Dear Vika: You are very much not a Professional. Not with a Capital T you're not. If you call yourself a Professional what would Doctors, Lawyers, and Educators call themselves? You and wwh are not pompous, therefore you and wwh are not Professionals and no amount of calling you such will make you so. Sorry.

#91637 01/12/03 04:51 PM
W
wwh Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
W
Dear milum: There are undoubtedly pompous professionals. I have known many really
down to earth professional athletes. Your compliment to Vika is too left handed.

#91638 01/12/03 05:41 PM
M
old hand
old hand
M
Dear wwh:

My "compliment" to you and Vika resents being called Left-handed.

The word "professional" is a useful term that functions well when describing the expertise, the experience, or the dedication of knowledgeable individuals, but when used self-discriptively by a group that has simply been trained, i.e., doctors, lawyers, etc., it mostly serves to strive for an air of class distinction that is unearned.

But heck, I quibble. I concede the point.

#91639 01/12/03 05:54 PM
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel