Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 10 of 11 1 2 8 9 10 11
#3532 11/11/01 11:50 PM
W
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
W
Here's a remarkable link to education that is live, well, and kicking in New York, if you have a bit of time on your hands to read through it:

http://www.essentialschools.org/pubs/exhib_schdes/nyac_web/toc.htm

And here's one from Tibet:

http://www2.lhric.org/pocantico/tibet/tibet.htm

J
jmh Offline
Pooh-Bah
Pooh-Bah
J
On the subject of different national systems. Here's an article about international comparisons, looks like we should all move to Finland.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/hi/english/education/newsid_1689000/1689966.stm

A
stranger
stranger
A
Roibin, I have to say that I understand where you are coming from, but do not totally agree with you. I am a 22 year old graduate student and a substitute teacher who, hopefully one day, will be a "real" teacher. I've learned so much in the past 5 months that I have been a substitute. (1) Teachers who do their job on a regular basis often forget what it is like for those just starting out. I have had teachers who leave no lesson plans and then complain that I didn't follow the lesson plans that they didn't leave. (2) Teachers may deserve the summer off, but so do many other working class people who make a whole lot less than teachers. (3) Society, not only teachers, blame children for their short comings. Well guess what, most of the kids that are labeled "bad" or "unmotivated" or whatever label is given them have had horrible childhoods. They've either been abused or neglected in some way, probably since they were born. How can we as a society expect children to grow up to be "normal," healthy, productive citizens when many of them can't recall a single happy moment from their childhood? Society spends much of its anger and disallusionment about education blaming the kids. They're disrespectful, arrogant, rude, have no motivation, no respect for others, etc. Stop blaming the kids and look at what they come from,