Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#157843 03/26/06 06:10 AM
stranger
OP Offline
stranger
I apologise if this has been raised before, but I was wondering if there were any rules that govern the use of prefixes and suffixes?
I believe there are several newspeak (as in 1984-like) words that have been adopted into the language, can the newspeak treatment be applied to any word, or are there some conventions to follow apart from just the appearance in the dictionary?
Can you, more specifically, turn any noun into an adjective?

hmm that's quite rambling. many apologies again, I'm not good at being succinct

It's staring you in the face.
#157844 03/26/06 12:47 PM
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
Welcome aBoard, SB. I think your question might be a little clearer if you gave us some examples of the usage you're asking about. As far as the boundary between nouns and adjectives goes, it can be pretty fuzzy. See the USn soap opera The Young and the Restless for example. In the other direction we have such terms as fire truck, where the noun fire is acting adjectivally. What this has to do with suffixes and prefixes is beyond me.

#157845 03/26/06 01:57 PM
I
Pooh-Bah
Pooh-Bah
I
Fire Truck Red

#157846 03/26/06 02:21 PM
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
ok, i sometimes get things mixed up, but isn't a prefix a group of letters that have a specific meaning, (but aren't really words on there own,but are rather a catagory of sub words,) that are used, annexed to a word, to modify its meaning? (and suffix almost the same?)

groups like re which can be again, (reoccured) or be an intensivier, (like marked and remarked) or dis which means (or can mean) not or the negative (disaster=not in the stars--a astrologers answer to why thing didn't turn out as rosy as his horoscope said they would) or disagree, (to not agree)