Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
B
old hand
OP Offline
old hand
B
These two seem to get about the same googlpressions, which got me wondering whether 'doctor's visit' perhaps arose at a time when the doctor always can *to the patient. But although most generally go to the doctor themselves now, some still say, "I have a doctor's visit", even though it is really a 'patient's visit' or 'a visit to the doctor' they mean. Leaving the apostrophe out doesn't change this either, but I have the inclination to do so for some reason. What say the MDs? don't tell me - 'It's a consultation':-)

P
veteran
veteran
P
some still say, "I have a doctor's visit", even though it is really a 'patient's visit' or 'a visit to the doctor' they mean.

Good insight, B-Y.

The same people who say they have a "doctor's visit" probably say they have a "dental appointment".

I'm not a doctor but your question seems to be more linguistic in nature than medical.

"Doctor's visit" is probably a hold-over from the days when doctor's actually made house calls, whereas dentists rarely did.

What is this called?

An anachronism? Or perhaps a vestigial expression? *

A recent headline in the Detroit News uses the term "doctor's visit" so it's still a common expression, at least with patients.

How to get the most out of your doctor's visit
Give your health care a boost with these tips for better communication
Detroit News, April 27, 2005

The responsibility for a good encounter lies with both the patient and the physician, says Dr. Denise White-Perkins, a family practitioner at Henry Ford Medical Center-Detroit Northwest and the director of the Institute on Multicultural Health at Henry Ford Health System.