#26927 04/20/01 05:54 PM
A
Aji Offline OP
stranger
OP Offline
stranger
A
HI all.
I'm a freshman in the university and I m Chinese.I've learning English for some years so that i can read it with a fairly good comprehension.But the most disturbing thing in English for me is the listening. Because i m a chinese,we Chinese don't pronunciate a single consonant with a vowel or vowels.That is ,we dont have double used or triple used consonants such as 'cl' 'fl'---i think they pronunciate a little fast for me , though i can still distinct the sounds and recognize the word. but the most annoying thing for me is the final consonants which enunciate very well.such as 'swab, swad, swath' 'late, laid,lake'if the consonant sound emitted very near, of course, i can distinguish them. but if the sound emitted more the 10 meters or more, i cant distinguish 'life show'(just give an example) from' live show' .when a person is shouting out,i cant seperate 'help' from 'hell' 'type' from 'tide' 'tie'
would u guy whose native language is English give me some advices or tips for me to overtake this difficulty?
THANKS SINCERELY

#26928 04/20/01 09:02 PM
W
wwh Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
W
Dear Aji: Look for a private message.

#26929 04/21/01 01:35 AM
M
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
M
Aji, welcome Aboard. While I am happy to welcome you, I am unable to provide reassurance as to your problem, except ot say that even native English speakers may often have the same difficulty. There are some members of this Board who are, or appear to be, reasonably familiar with Putonghua, and I hope that one of these people may be of more assistance. Please stay around and see what developsfrom your query. I am sure you will find this site useful and informative.

#26930 04/21/01 02:47 AM
I
Pooh-Bah
Pooh-Bah
I
Hello, Aji, and welcome!