#59640 03/04/02 11:44 PM
H
hev Offline OP
addict
OP Offline
addict
H
http://www.uselessknowledge.com/

What a fun site!! I did a search on this and specific parts of it have been referred to here before, so I hope I'm forgiven for mentioning it again.

Useless Knowledge ... an oxymoron for sure.

Hev

#59641 03/06/02 08:45 PM
W
wwh Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
W
Dear hev: I can't find anything about it on the Internet, but when sound movies first began, there was a lousy first movie (cowboys and Indians),a serial, an intermission during which everybody went to buy more popcorn,while the projectionist rewound the film, and then the feature. Frequently the serial was one called "College Humor". Its theme song started " We're working our way through college, to gain a lot of knowledge that we'll never, ever use again....."
Nonsense 101 is still being taught in many places.

old hand
old hand
Funny - I just received a solicitation from the theatre department in which I studied for my degree. They were urgently calling upon all alums for testimonial quotes for their new marketing campaign to prospective students. Being a realist, my submission was "Everyone may say you can't make a living in the theatre - they may be right. Even so, the Willamette University Theatre department provides an excellent foundation for an interesting life."

I'll let you all know when the royalty checks start rolling in.

While I'm waiting, that site will surely keep me entertained. Thanks for sharing it, hev - right up my alley!

#59643 03/07/02 02:25 PM
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
Julius Caesar's hat size.

K
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
K
Julius Caesar's hat size [unusually large, as I recall]

Of course -- which is why his birthing was by the eponymous Caesarean section.

W
wwh Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
W
Dear Keiva: Quite a while ago I posted from official gynecology and obstetrical site that Caesar was not born that way. And the spelling the site preferred was Cesarean.