Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
M
Miia Offline OP
stranger
OP Offline
stranger
M
Hi!

I'm a Finnish student of translation and interpretation. At the moment, I'm writing my master's thesis on taboo expressions and their offensiveness. My material consists of a Finnish novel Under the North Star (original Finnish version and English translation). As a part of my thesis, I'm testing the offensiveness of some expressions with a questionnaire. The questionnaire is at the pilot stage, but I would like to know if there is interest among the users of this forum to fill it out when the form is finished? The only requirement is that the respondents are native English speakers (preferrably American).

T
veteran
veteran
T
Yes Milla, I would be happy to answer your questionaire
because I am not easily offended.
I am not offended because you prefer Americans speakers of English.
This only offends the British speakers of
English who are easily offended, which I ain't.

Fire away...

M
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
M
> This only offends the British speakers of
English who are easily offended, which I ain't.

Milo here demonstrates two platitudes:
1. Only those British speakers of English predisposed to get offended will end up offended
b. He's not a member of that set
Well, we sure knew that, Milo :)

Good luck with the survey, Miia - be glad to help if a mere non-American can slip through the mesh!

Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
I, too, would be happy to join your team of lab rats.

Pay milum and mav no never mind. They just like chewing on each other.

BTW, is your name really Miiä? I ask only in the interest of vowel harmony.

M
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
M
> They just like chewing on each other

Nope. Milo is non-discriminatory, in that he assumes 'not American speakers of English' = 'British speakers of English'. This board also has many other members of the family of international Englishes represented. Even Alabama, where they nearly speak English. ;)

Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel