S
stranger
OP Offline
stranger
S
I'm a student from Hong Kong named Freddie,aged 19
Lately I learn a word from the newspaper: Sublimate
Can we say "Sublimate our English" ?
Someone pointed out that it's mistaken but It's a bit confusing.Can anyone help me?

#95538 02/14/03 06:22 AM
S
sjm Offline
old hand
old hand
S
Welcome suededevil, nice to have you with us. Merriam-Webster gives as the first meaning of sublimate the following:
1 a : SUBLIME 1 b archaic : to improve or refine as if by subliming

This suggests to me that to say "sublimate our English" might not be clearly understood by some, since it uses the word sublimate in a way that is no longer common. Not by any strech of the imagination wrong, just unusual.

#95539 02/14/03 11:08 AM
M
addict
addict
M
Hello Suededevil!
I would think, 'Sublimate' would apply to the wilful aggrandisement of something mundane to a more profound state. Akin to something many new age gurus with the right marketing strategies, do: 'sublimate' ordinary everyday wisdom to the lofty standards of philosophy!

It seems more appropriate to apply this word to theories, ideologies or priniciples. In general, anything abstract. Language is anything but abstract and so, to use this, to indicate a desire to improve one's command over the language, does not seem to be quite right. I, at least, have not heard it used this way.

Moreover there is a clear sense of a deliberate act, with sublimate; as in, when you sublimate something, you are deliberately altering its condition to a falsely exalted one.

#95540 02/14/03 11:37 AM
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
The common understanding of the word sublimate would make me think that one was trying to channel one's knowledge of English into some socially acceptable alternative. This doesn't make any sense to me. "Advance my English" would work, but it isn't the normal way of saying it. I suspect what you want to say is "improve my English".

#95541 02/14/03 04:25 PM
W
wwh Offline
Carpal Tunnel