OK - I've waited long enough...

WOW -"Has anyone else noticed that each language has it's own musicality? Rhythm if you will? - You bet! Aligning lyrics to music, just one of my favourite endeavors, is filled with the discovery of what is musical about language - both rhythmically and melodically. (Of course this says nothing about the effect of music on meaning after doing so!)

"Any singers among us who perhaps have had similar problems with American or English lyrics translated into another language?" - I have very little experience with translating from English, however, translating to English always leaves certain 'holes' for which there is no word(s) to 'fill'. I would imagine it is the same the other way around. In performance, as well as analysis, music seems to be dictating (to a certain degree) how successful a language communicates through it as well as each language seemingly dictating (to a certain degree) what music will be best at not obfuscating its intent. (ps. I assume by "Tempo C" you mean 'common time' or 4/4 (ie. "Time Signature")

"...no two hearers get exactly the same message" I'll save this one for another time

There is no doubt that composers work within a certain "sonic comfort" which their "mother tongue" has embedded into the way they hear (and listen). This is one of the obvious ways language exposes its own musicality. Actually (tsuwm-registered trademark), there is nothing obvious about it... except most people I know who know very little about music theory, per se, will guess correctly the "nationality of a composition"; just as they can do with the "nationality of a language", yet not understand a word of it.