Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#55478 02/06/02 03:17 AM
H
hev Offline OP
addict
OP Offline
addict
H
I've been sitting all morning making changes to a (rather official) document (and attempting to keep my attention away from all the new posts on this site ).

I was doing some work in a section of the document entitled Key Performance Indicators which then had the abbreviation "(KPIs)" after it... aaargh . Surely if the statement is plural, then the abbreviation should not also be pluralised!

Aside from the surprise I have at the volume of punctuation and grammatical corrections I'm having to make to this document, I'm stunned that all these things have been let slide for ... gosh .. who knows how long in a (supposedly) professional business environment. I'm a contractor, I'm allowed to level these criticisms at Management ... especially when they are not looking .

The point of my post (sorry it's taken so long to get here) is that this is one of my pet peeves, along with statements like "ATM Machines". Anyone else wanna share? Or commiserate?

I'm hoping like mad that I haven't made a typo or grammatical error in this post or I'm done for...

Hev

"friend you haven't met yet..."

#55479 02/06/02 01:47 PM
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
Is this a Yart*?
Well of course it is, but i mean is a recent one? was it here or somewhere else, I recently read a list of pleonastic terms?

We have done this before-- but it might be fun if we can come up with something aside from the tired old ones (which are the only ones i can think of --PINnumbers and the like.)

*for the newbies and strangers here about--
YART is short hand for Yet Another Rehashed Topic--

if you are new, try doing a search, and see if we have discussed the topic.. if we did 6, 10, 18 months ago...we might enjoy a rehash.. especially if you can add something new. otherwise, the thread is likely to die.

#55480 02/06/02 02:48 PM
W
wow Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
W