About Us | What's New | Search | Site Map | Contact Us  

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 3 of 3 1 2 3
#155260 02/10/06 04:12 PM
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
Can you still converse in all of those languages?

Ah, bel, if only. I was careful to say "studied formally". I can still get by in Spanish and French, an German is my best foreign language. The others I remember mainly grammar, but lack sufficient vocabulary. Tunica, I really don't recall much, though I studied it with Professor Mary Haas who gathered info on it from one of the last native speakers in the '30s and wrote a grammatical description which I must still have somewhere. I've always wanted to write up a little Berlitz-style foreign phrase book for Sanskrit and Hittite. Pardon me, which way to the library of Alexandria? that sort of thing.

Ceci n'est pas un seing.
#155261 02/10/06 04:58 PM
OP Offline
Quote:

Mechan. Maybe you could learn the languages you want that way. It is much cheaper than paying for live classes. If you wish to do business in different languages, then you need the live classes, but if it is just to be able to converse, this is a great method.

Well, I've always assumed that learning by yourself isn't really successful.

Is it? Has anyone learned on their own and became really good in the language, almost fluent?

[insert signature here]
#155262 02/10/06 06:49 PM
B
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
B
Well, I'm only at the start of CD number three so I can't say for sure, but I learned enough to walk into a client's office last week and ask, in Spanish, if my buyer was in because I had an appointment with him at 2:00 p.m.

I knew the receptionist at this office speaks Spanish fluently so I piped right up with it.

As soon as I asked her she flew into a whole slew of Spanish, really quickly, so I asked her (in Spanish again) to slow down because I was only learning.

She said that my accent was perfect so she'd assumed that I spoke fluently.