Next Thread
Print Thread
#1348 04/12/00 09:55 AM
P
journeyman
OP Offline
journeyman
P
Some years ago, when I was a psychiatric nurse, my sister and I invented a few pseudo-medical terms to describe our colleagues. These were:
Mononeuronia - Have a single brain cell
Inhibitory Bineuronia - Having two, mutually inhibitory, neurones (For people brighter than mononeuronics but with less drive and energy)
Asynapsosis - Having all the gray matter but with none of it connected together. Common as a temporary condition in tired doctors and not rare as a permanent condition in some doctors. Characterised by knowing a great deal and in being completely unable to use this knowledge constructively.

Many doctors in the UK used to use apparently medical abbreviations to comment on patients (Before patients were allowed access to their medical notes). These included NVB (not non venous blood, but not very bright) and NFA (Normal for Armley - a working class area of Leeds in Yorkshire. This, of course, had many variations depending on the location).

Does anyone else have examples?

#1349 04/12/00 06:56 PM
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
Philip, are we psychically linked? Just this weekend, I
was teasing my husband about having one brain cell left!
(Mine seem to be dropping like flies, also, especially in the memory dep't.) I expect to be diagnosed with
mononeuronia any time now!

#1350 04/13/00 06:49 AM
J
jmh Offline
Pooh-Bah
Pooh-Bah
J
Yes my partner is a doctor and I remember a similar list. The local term "NFS" was "normal for Selby". I'll see if I can jog his memory on the other terms.

I think medical humour always has the light touch of the sledgehammer. A combination of long hours, tired people, life and death situations at some times and yet sitting around waiting for something to happen at other times makes humour essential to survival.

#1351 04/22/00 01:15 PM
P
addict
addict
P
Hello Phillip: