Print Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#125039 03/11/04 08:52 AM
W
Carpal Tunnel
OP Offline
Carpal Tunnel
W
tsuwm published a useless word porrect that stuck with me for some unfathomable reason. Porrect is an adjective referring to antennae that point forwards. Well, as I was thinking about this truly odd, virtually worthless word--at least in ordinary discourse--I wondered what might be the equally worthless adjectives to describe antennae pointing upwards, backwards, and straight out sideways.

I don't suppose anyone is privy to those useless beauties?

#125040 03/11/04 12:33 PM
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
I was a radar tech in the Navy and my ship, being the floating office of a Joint Chief of Staffs team, was quite, um, anal about many things. When in port we were required to make sure that all our radar antennas were porrectly orientatized.

#125041 03/11/04 01:24 PM
J
veteran
veteran
J
It can be applied to other body parts on insects, like mandibles. My oldest friend in the world -- we've known each other since 2nd grade -- has an AB in entomology, as does his wife, and they can carry on "normal" conversations using all kinds of strange words. (I often wonder what kind of vocabulary their daughter will have; they're all musicians, too.) Since a lot of taxonomy is based on shape, position, and orientation, this kind of terminology is common.

On to the etymology: L porrectus ppl of porrigo, porgo 'to reach out, extend, offer' (< por- 'forward' + rego 'to keep in a straight line').

#125042 03/11/04 04:15 PM
G
addict
addict
G
tsuwm published a useless word porrect that stuck with me for some unfathomable reason

"Porrect" may be a useless word, Wordwind, but it gave rise to the very useful term "politically porrect" which stands in sharp contrast to the more familiar term "politically correct".

A "politically correct" statement doesn't really make a point because it has too many antennae pointing in too many directions.