#36052 07/20/01 06:06 PM
A
Aji Offline OP
stranger
OP Offline
stranger
A
hi everyone on Wordsmith.
I am a chinese student, i have priviously raise a quetion here on Wordsmith .
this is my second time.
i found a interesting phenomenon in English, in fact,not i
found it, all of u English speaker speaks it,and u must be familiar with it.
that is the pronunciation difference between "can" and "can't".
as we know, "can't" is the short form of " can not" the pronunciation of
it shoud be can plus a plosion 't'. but in the real life, the plosion 't' is
hard to be heard and hard to distinguish two words.and i saw many movie and
tv programs which is performed by Americans or English,u show the difference
be "can"and "can't" is not by the last plosion 't', u r using the tones (tonation?)
to distinguish "can" and "can't"(the basic charateristic feature in chinese) , which "can" using the first tone(in the official
Chinese) , and "can't" using the 4th tone (also official Chinese);
can u all English lover give some comment about my humble remarkes?

#36053 07/20/01 06:24 PM
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
When we are not stressing the words can will normally sound more like kn with very little vowel sound and can't will have the full vowel sound but with just a stop at the end. If we are stressing the word, usually to draw the listener's attention to that specific word for whatever reason, can will be pronounced with the full vowel sound and can't will be pronounced with either a slight popping sound (made with the tongue pulling sharply off the hard palate just behind the teeth) or else with the same stop as in the unstressed version. In either case in the stressed version the vowel sound in can't will be shorter in time duration than the vowel sound in can.

Does this make any sense?

#36054 07/20/01 06:41 PM
A
Aji Offline OP
stranger
OP Offline
stranger
A
IT IS VERY DETAILED.