Wordsmith.org
Posted By: Miia Master's Thesis/Questionnaire - 03/24/05 07:27 AM
Hi!

I'm a Finnish student of translation and interpretation. At the moment, I'm writing my master's thesis on taboo expressions and their offensiveness. My material consists of a Finnish novel Under the North Star (original Finnish version and English translation). As a part of my thesis, I'm testing the offensiveness of some expressions with a questionnaire. The questionnaire is at the pilot stage, but I would like to know if there is interest among the users of this forum to fill it out when the form is finished? The only requirement is that the respondents are native English speakers (preferrably American).

Posted By: themilum Re: Master's Thesis/Questionnaire - 03/24/05 11:09 AM
Yes Milla, I would be happy to answer your questionaire
because I am not easily offended.
I am not offended because you prefer Americans speakers of English.
This only offends the British speakers of
English who are easily offended, which I ain't.

Fire away...

Posted By: maverick Re: Master's Thesis/Questionnaire - 03/24/05 11:19 AM
> This only offends the British speakers of
English who are easily offended, which I ain't.

Milo here demonstrates two platitudes:
1. Only those British speakers of English predisposed to get offended will end up offended
b. He's not a member of that set
Well, we sure knew that, Milo :)

Good luck with the survey, Miia - be glad to help if a mere non-American can slip through the mesh!

Posted By: Faldage Re: Master's Thesis/Questionnaire - 03/24/05 11:46 AM
I, too, would be happy to join your team of lab rats.

Pay milum and mav no never mind. They just like chewing on each other.

BTW, is your name really Miiä? I ask only in the interest of vowel harmony.

Posted By: maverick Re: Master's Thesis/Questionnaire - 03/24/05 12:09 PM
> They just like chewing on each other