Wordsmith.org
Posted By: tsuwm redundant pairings - 11/28/00 04:12 PM
I came across the phrase "vim and vigor" the other day and, struck by its repetitive nature, was reminded of when "kit and caboodle" came up here a while back. have we covered (nearly) equivalent pairings?

Posted By: Father Steve Re: redundant pairings - 11/28/00 04:38 PM
A professor with whom I studied long, long ago told me that, when there appears to be a redundancy in such a pairing, it is often because one Anglo-Saxon (Germanic) word has been coupled with one Norman (Latin) word. He pointed to a dozen examples of this in the 1549 and 1552 Books of Common Prayer, although it was so long ago, I don't recall the examples.

Posted By: Jackie Re: redundant pairings - 11/28/00 07:09 PM
This is not exactly the same, but...flesh and blood.
Hale and hearty. Part and parcel? Hack and slash.
Far and wide (maybe).

Posted By: Marty Re: redundant pairings - 11/28/00 08:12 PM
Prim and proper.
Neat and tidy.

It occurs to me, though, that there may be a sub-class of these expressions where the words are (almost) always coupled, such as "spick and span". Then again, if they can't be used separately, perhaps they don't qualify as redundant pairings??

Posted By: of troy Re: redundant pairings - 11/28/00 08:13 PM
kith and kin?

and in the negitive, neither fair nor foul? (so it what?)

Posted By: Max Quordlepleen Re: redundant pairings - 11/28/00 08:19 PM
Ship-shape and Bristol fashion?

Posted By: tsuwm Re: redundant pairings - 11/28/00 09:11 PM
>Ship-shape and Bristol fashion?
now there's one that's not often heard in the Minnesota woods.

Posted By: AnnaStrophic Re: redundant pairings - 11/29/00 02:19 AM
rack and ruin.

(Bristol fashion?? Background, please)

Posted By: drum Re: redundant pairings - 11/29/00 07:32 AM
How 'bout rip and tear?

Posted By: Max Quordlepleen Re: redundant pairings - 11/29/00 07:52 AM
In reply to:

(Bristol fashion? Background please)

The following sounds plausible: