Wordsmith.org
Posted By: jmh Memory of words - 05/18/00 10:05 AM
It’s funny how easy it is to remember some things from school and not others. We used to have a test on a Friday of general knowledge. I was an expert at capital cities (although I couldn’t place some of the countries on a map). Anyway, it certainly increased my chances of winning (but not making) my first £1,000,000.

Here’s some of the proper terms (collective nouns) that were regulars in the test.
a shrewdness of apes
a destruction of wild cats
a skulk of foxes
an exaltation of larks
a paddling of ducks (on water)
a team of ducks (in flight)

I’ve just looked them up and realised that they didn’t teach us:
a superfluity of nuns
- I wonder why?

Which words stick in your mind from long ago and why?

Posted By: Jackie Re: Memory of words - 05/18/00 12:50 PM
Pythagoras, Jo--
I remember being awed by the fact that someone from so
long ago had such a long-lasting effect on what is taught.

Posted By: David108 Re: Memory of words - 05/18/00 06:13 PM
I remember mispronounciations, which usually caused some embarrassment: "civil" was "kivil", and try saying "unfed" with the stress on "un".

"Dad, what does 'unfed' (as above) mean?"

"YCLIU" pre-empting tswum

That's how I got started with dictionary and Thesaurus.

Posted By: tsuwm Re: Memory of words - 05/18/00 06:22 PM
yes! mispronunciations...
epitome I read as EP i tome
paradigm was PAR a DIG em

another word I remember is career, used as a verb, as in to career down a mountain road -- I used this on an English paper and got marked down for making up a word!

http://members.aol.com/tsuwm
Posted By: jmh Re: Memory of words - 05/18/00 06:39 PM
> got marked down for making up a word!