Wordsmith.org
Posted By: junebh subtile/subtle - 09/09/10 05:30 PM
I'm new to Wordsmith, so I hope this is the appropriate place to ask this question about today's word. There seems to be little difference in the meaning of "subtile" and "subtle." (Or is there something subtle that I'm missing?) Is subtile more archaic? Or just an alternate spelling?
Posted By: tsuwm Re: subtile/subtle - 09/09/10 05:47 PM
huh. I always thought that subtile was an affected misspelling. the OED online has this curious note:
In the 1st Folio of Shakespeare the instances are about equally divided between the spellings subtle and subtil(e, -ill. In the first editions of Milton's poems the spelling suttle (with suttlety, suttly) is the only one, except in Paradise Regained, which has subtle (with subtilty).

so I guess along with suttle (and others), it's yet another variant.
Posted By: LukeJavan8 Re: subtile/subtle - 09/09/10 05:58 PM
Originally Posted By: junebh
I'm new to Wordsmith, so I hope this is the appropriate place to ask this question about today's word. There seems to be little difference in the meaning of "subtile" and "subtle." (Or is there something subtle that I'm missing?) Is subtile more archaic? Or just an alternate spelling?

WELCOME
Posted By: BranShea Re: subtile/subtle - 09/09/10 06:18 PM
How soon hath Time the suttle theef of youth,
Stoln on his wing my three and twentith yeer !

(Milton)

(23 and a few more..;~)
Posted By: Faldage Re: subtile/subtle - 09/10/10 12:24 AM