Wordsmith.org
Hi,
I am a newbie here. I have a question that I don't seem to find anyone able to answer. Who or how is it decided what you call people from different countries or places? For example, a person from Hong Kong is a Hong Konger, why not Hong Kongnese? A person from Shanghai, a Shanghainese, why not Shanghaians? What about Angola? Angolians? Croatia, Croats or Croatian? Of course many are easy and obvious, like America = Americans, India = Indians, California = Californians. etc. What about Karachi? Karachians? Its actually Karachite, but why and who or how is it decided?

Thank you & best regards

William Sim
how about those from liverpool--scousers?

Who decides on that? (there isn't even a hint of liverpool in the name!

me? i am a new Yawker.
People from Liverpool are known as Liverpudlians, why? I don't know!? But Scouser is a slang with possibly Norwegian or German source.
and here I thought those from Liverpool were Liverpudlians.

-ron o.

edit: Inhabitants of Liverpool are referred to as Liverpudlians but are also known as "Scousers", in reference to the local meal known as 'scouse', a form of stew. The word 'scouse' is probably a contraction of 'lobscouse', the name of a Scandanavian stew which is thought to be a precursor of the scouse dish. - Wikipedia
tsuwm, is it me or did you just mantle wsim?
>did you just mantle wsim?

yeahbut, note time and note edit (actually, I only noticed it after the edit).

-joe (it's you) friday
heh.
Auslander?