Wordsmith.org
Posted By: adambrowne Pyknik - 01/22/07 09:36 PM
Hi all - newbie here. I know the above word from reading 19th century adventures as a kid - it seemed to mean something like 'having a squat body and bulbous eyes'. I learned it along with such words as steatopygous - words from the pseudoscience of physiognomy, maybe? I'm surprised to find that googling it - with variations of spelling - comes up with almost nothing at all. It's not in the Shorter OED either... I'm beginning to wonder if it's a word at all...

Any thoughts?

Adam Browne
Posted By: tsuwm Re: Pyknik - 01/22/07 10:09 PM
this seems to be my day for plumping for OneLook
Posted By: Zed Re: Pyknik - 01/22/07 11:41 PM
Hi Adam
I would hate to pyknik on something that had a squat body and bulgy eyes but maybe that's just personal preference.
Posted By: adambrowne Re: Pyknik - 01/23/07 03:05 AM
Ah, pyknic, with a c. Never thought of that. Thanks.

A little embarrassedly,

Adam
Posted By: Hydra Re: Pyknik - 01/23/07 07:31 AM
What an unusual word. Is that pronounced the same as "picnic" ?
Posted By: AnnaStrophic Re: Pyknic pronunciation - 01/23/07 08:53 AM
I guess so, Hydra. It's listed in a homophone dictionary at the OneLook page tsuwm tsited. Click on one of the dictionaries there to see.
Posted By: Buffalo Shrdlu Re: Pyknic pronunciation - 01/23/07 11:25 AM
it's not an outside lunch, in Russia?
Posted By: BranShea Re: Pyknik - 01/23/07 05:12 PM
Quote:

'having a squat body and bulbous eyes'.
Adam Browne

The pyknic type.
There's nothing about the bulbous eyes in the dictio's, which makes the word a little less special.
With no bulbous eyes it's just another fleshy person.
Posted By: BranShea Re: Pyknik - 01/23/07 05:58 PM
Basically it comes from this:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ernst_Kretschmer