Wordsmith.org
Posted By: Salad_Dressing Prefixes and Suffixes - 03/26/06 06:10 AM
I apologise if this has been raised before, but I was wondering if there were any rules that govern the use of prefixes and suffixes?
I believe there are several newspeak (as in 1984-like) words that have been adopted into the language, can the newspeak treatment be applied to any word, or are there some conventions to follow apart from just the appearance in the dictionary?
Can you, more specifically, turn any noun into an adjective?

hmm that's quite rambling. many apologies again, I'm not good at being succinct
Posted By: Faldage Re: Prefixes and Suffixes - 03/26/06 12:47 PM
Welcome aBoard, SB. I think your question might be a little clearer if you gave us some examples of the usage you're asking about. As far as the boundary between nouns and adjectives goes, it can be pretty fuzzy. See the USn soap opera The Young and the Restless for example. In the other direction we have such terms as fire truck, where the noun fire is acting adjectivally. What this has to do with suffixes and prefixes is beyond me.
Posted By: inselpeter Re: Prefixes and Suffixes - 03/26/06 01:57 PM
Fire Truck Red
Posted By: of troy Re: Prefixes and Suffixes - 03/26/06 02:21 PM
ok, i sometimes get things mixed up, but isn't a prefix a group of letters that have a specific meaning, (but aren't really words on there own,but are rather a catagory of sub words,) that are used, annexed to a word, to modify its meaning? (and suffix almost the same?)

groups like re which can be again, (reoccured) or be an intensivier, (like marked and remarked) or dis which means (or can mean) not or the negative (disaster=not in the stars--a astrologers answer to why thing didn't turn out as rosy as his horoscope said they would) or disagree, (to not agree)