Wordsmith.org
Posted By: RyanKing illeist - Variation - 10/29/02 11:55 AM
(Forgive me if this is the wrong place for this, this is my first time posting)

If I say, "I am going to the store", what is the "I" in that sentence? It's a pronoun referring to the proper noun Ryan King.

If I say, "Ryan is going to the store", I'm an illeist.

If I say, "Ryan am going to the store", I'm actually still referring to myself in the first person, but just not using the pronoun.

Has anyone heard of this being used? It seems to make more sense than the redundant, "I, Ryan, am going to the store".

- Ryan King

Posted By: wwh Re: illeist - Variation - 10/29/02 01:55 PM
Dear Ryan: Without meaning to seem unfriendly I think it sounds dialectical, uneducated,
not very useful, though easily understood.

Posted By: RyanKing Re: illeist - Variation - 10/29/02 02:08 PM
As for dialectical - I haven't heard it anywhere, so I wouldn't even call it that. =)

However, as for "uneducated" - I think it only sounds that way because it's unfamiliar. If you think of "I" as merely a pronoun, and consider that pronouns should be able to substitute for the noun they stand for, it seems to work.

And as for not-very-useful - I can think of at least one case. The legalese of "I, Ryan, hereby declare that..." could be refactored to merely: "Ryan hereby declare that...".

Posted By: Wordwind Re: illeist - Variation - 10/29/02 02:21 PM
Well, thanks, Ryan for the new word for me: illeism - ( )
The practice of referring to oneself as "he" or "she", or by one's name

I've heard small children executing this illeism, most notably a little five-year-old boy who was instructed to sit down along with the other children, and he said,

"Jeremy don't want to.

Of course, to make his use of illeism a bit more grammatical (under the circumstances), he should have said,

"Jeremy doesn't want to..