Wordsmith.org
Posted By: NBrown Spoonerism - 02/19/13 08:26 PM
I am a ong time pastor who conducts many weddings. I use post-its in my service book liberally so I do not forget the name of the bride and groom. The day before the 'simple' wedding with just a few guests, the bride got very nervous, and I ended up absorbing that energy. I went through my notes repeatedly that day, double-checking everything and held it together with multiple references to Dan and Jill, until,yes, at the very end, so relieved to be done, introduced them as "Jan and Dill." The bride whipped around and scolded me. I returned thier honorarium.
Posted By: faardie Re: Spoonerism - 02/19/13 09:30 PM
I once stood on a road from where I saw a gushing geothermal vent of steam. On the other side there was a large timber yard, heavy timber stacked high. It occurred to me that I was looking at a perfect spoonerism. A steam bore and a beam store.
Posted By: Norma L Gertson Re: Spoonerism - 02/20/13 12:39 AM
I have two dogs, Mollie and Darby. It is not unusual for me to call for them as Dollie & Marby...

Many years ago, my best friend came up with the term "ninger fail file". To this day, when I file my nails, I smile.
Posted By: bassorbase Re: Spoonerism - 02/20/13 12:47 AM
When I first moved to the small (then) town of Sumner, WA before the time of digital catalogues in libraries, I inquired about a book called "Old Forts of the Far West" (Herbert M Hart) and, of course, spoonered those two "F" words. The kindly little old lady at the desk issued me a library card anyway and found me the book.
Posted By: Sara Dillinger Re: Spoonerism - 02/20/13 01:06 AM
Interesting that this word should show up Monday. Just Sunday, as I was unpacking my son's lunch tote, I asked him if he had used his "spork" or "fooner". Later, I explained to him that there was a word for mixing up the initial letter of two words: "foonerism". He didn't seem to enjoy the pun .