Wordsmith.org
Posted By: Jen Indian Mythology - 03/27/06 05:21 AM
I always enjoy the WAD e-mail, but the story that came with this week's opener couldn't have come at a better time. I'm a first year coach at a local high school and this week I plan to introduce the concept of visualization to my team. The story of the bird's eye is ideal. (It doesn't hurt that I'm a sucker for mythology.)

Thanks again, Anu (and Ananya)!
Posted By: Father Steve Re: Indian Mythology - 03/27/06 05:52 AM
Welcome, Jen. One hopes that you will enjoy the discussion(s) on this Board as much as you do the missives from Anu.
Posted By: keithsnyder Re: Indian Mythology - 03/27/06 12:49 PM
Back when I shot bow-and-arrow, I practiced pretty regularly at a nice indoor range. The guy who sorta took me under his wing gave me similar advice about aiming (maybe he knew the story?). I found an interesting benefit to focusing only on the x-ring of the target. When I was at full-draw, there was nothing else going on anywhere in the world other than the 20 yards between my arrow tip and the little X. No problems, no hassles at work. When I was done practicing, I was quite relaxed.
Posted By: of troy Re: Indian Mythology - 03/27/06 02:13 PM
its an idea that works for many thing.

when i learned to sew, i learned to look down the seam (as one might look down a road, and see a straight row of stitches, and then to just sew on top of the stitches. its also true for skating, if you look down, you fall down, hold your head up, look where you want to go, and trust your feet to get you there..
Posted By: Marianna Re: Indian Mythology - 03/27/06 03:15 PM
Quote:

its an idea that works for many thing.