Wordsmith.org
Posted By: Angel Gaelic anyone? - 03/05/02 12:16 AM
"S'adore i sim caid him faite"

I honestly haven't a clue what it means. When I asked, I was told, "it can't be translated directly into English without losing some meaning". Any help appreciated!

Posted By: wwh Re: Gaelic anyone? - 03/05/02 12:28 AM
S'adore i sim caid him faite - Dear Angel : I studied a bit of Gaelic a couple years ago, but didnpt get very far. I must say however, that your sample just does not look like Gaelic.

Posted By: Angel Re: Gaelic anyone? - 03/05/02 12:51 AM
...your sample just does not look like Gaelic.

The person who said this to me is of Celtic descent and said it was Gaelic. Could it be misspelled? Any takers?

Posted By: Rubrick Re: Gaelic anyone? - 03/05/02 10:34 AM

Dear Angel,

I've been speaking Irish/Gaelic for 25 years and this is not a Gaelic phrase. Now that doesn't mean that they aren't celtic words. Let me analyse them and let others cross-analyse my conjectures.

S'adore This is too latin to be Gaelic. It looks more like a Norman influence so is probably Middle English akin to Chaucerian English. No Gaelic word combinations contain S'a

i Probably pronounced 'ih' rather than 'eye'. If it refers to the first person singular then it is not Gaelic. In Gaelic there isn't a first person singular! The verbs and grammar do this job. i isn't a Gaelic word. Guess: Welsh?

sim No idea. Possibly Old English. Could be a corruption of the Welsh cym

caid Now we're getting somewhere. caid (cahd) is an Irish word but makes no sense with the other words above. The first real Gaelic word. But it is also an OE and Welsh word.

him Definitely not Gaelic. Germanic. Possibly Anglo-Saxon. Norse?

faite I think this should be pronounced faw-tcha The closest Gaelic word I can think of is fáilte (fawl-tcha) which means 'welcome'. faite could mean something completely different, however.