Print Thread
Page 2 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
#7578 10/11/00 08:22 AM
shanks Offline OP
old hand
OP Offline
old hand
Jackie

Nice to be remembered, even though, oh horrors, I am still a newbie - are you sure your prestige won't suffer from being associated with a tyro? Don't they graduate you just for having been here a long time, whether or not you post? Questions, questions.

Anyway, more germane, of course, is the issue at hand, that of speaking in sentences. And I agree with you almost completely. I too, have the irritating habit of trying to explain, qualify, contextualise (apologies for that neologism) right in the middle of a sentence. My most commonly used phrases, are, therefore, 'it seems', 'it appears', 'probably', 'tend/tendency', 'try to' and so on. I thought about it the other day and realised that, when I speak, I probably (!!) sound like a politician: incapable of providing a simple, unqualified answer to a question. Did someone once say that we are all doomed to turn into that which we most deplore?

cheer

the sunshine warrior

#7579 10/11/00 10:31 AM
shanks Offline OP
old hand
OP Offline
old hand
Marty

For reasons unknown, I tend to be verbose in posts, but terse in e-mail. As for letters, it has probably been a few years since I last wrote a 'real' one.

I believe that the fact of there being a significant difference between the written and spoken languages (in any language) can be referred to by a single word. I don't think it's 'diglossia', but maybe something similar. Anybody here have any ideas about it?