old hand
Originally Posted By: LukeJavan8

Where's Bran when we need him.????

I think you mean 'her'?

old hand
old hand
Originally Posted By: PastorVon
Why Hebrew & Greek? A domine, perhaps?

Domine? I'm not a Latin scholar, so had to look that up.

Assuming you're not calling me a member of the Italian heavy metal band; a lord; or a West Indian fish of the family Trichiuridae; I can only surmise that you mean a clergyman. Like you I am a pastor, yes. grin

Don't the Dutch have a dish that is essentially saurkraut served on top of mashed potatoes?

I wouldn't know. I'm not Dutch. I just like rollmop salad. That's about the only highlight of Dutch cuisine as far as I'm concerned! Apart perhaps from a few confectionaries.

A few years ago when I was semi-employed for a while I did some part time mindless work in a food importing warehouse. Amongst other things they imported containers full of plastic packs of saurkraut from Holland and Germany. Sometimes the packs had burst in transit and gone (even more) rotten. We had to wash it off the packs that hadn't burst. That stuff is bad enough before it goes off, but that experience put me off it for life!

Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
Don't the Dutch have a dish that is essentially saurkraut served on top of mashed potatoes?

I believe it's called stamppot zuurkool (link). There are other kinds of stamppots, but the general idea is mashed potatoes (Aardappelpuree) mixed with a vegetable, e.g., endive, kale, carrot, onion. And there can also be some kind of sausage added, e.g., rookworst, which despite its name is not smoked. Bran?

Ceci n'est pas un seing.
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
Originally Posted By: Faldage

I've never heard "wie geht es einen." I've heard "wie geht es Ihnen," which means "How is it going?" polite style, often shortened in more infromal contexts to "wie geht's?"

My error. The transliteration was just mis-spelled. Might be called a scribal error of the ear.