Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
E
stranger
OP Offline
stranger
E
Reading your list on the merits of hardcover books brought back a memory of my English teacher, MaryVirginia Rosenfeld, from John Adams High School in South Bend, Indiana. She said she never bothered to lock her car because "nobody steals books", and in 30 years she has never been proven wrong. In 1970 she distributed a bibliography entitled "Great Books For a Lifetime's Reading"; I am still working on it. My dear Miss Rosenfeld, now curled up in the most comfortable reading chair in the great beyond (it has excellent light plus tea and cookies at hand), you are never forgotten.

veteran
veteran

I was not a fan of my 10th grade English teacher until many years after I graduated. However, one thing she used to say all the time that has stuck with me is this: "No intelligent person is ever bored."

After some years, I've discovered that while it is not exactly true, it is a very close approximation to the truth. Intelligent people can keep their minds occupied nearly anywhere, nearly any time. One habit is to keep books (as well as paper and pen) everywhere - every room of the house, both cars, all the backpacks, at work - any place one is likely to find one's self stranded for any length of time. And oddly, I have never had a book stolen from me, though a few loaners have failed to make their way home.

Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
Loosing them to theft would be easier to take than loosing them to careless borrowers. At least you would not ask yourself half your life
who the h it was that borrowed this and that particular favorite book you keep searching after.

Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
When I was graduated from high school, my English teacher bought me a copy of Clifton Fadiman's Lifetime Reading Plan and urged me to pursue it. I did and have never regretted that commitment. I also deeply appreciate her nudge in the direction of a rich banquet of thought and expression.

Carpal Tunnel