Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#131989 08/24/04 02:56 AM
N
stranger
OP Offline
stranger
N
I work in a lab studying heavy metal transport in the body, and we use the word 'efflux' to describe the active transport of metal out of a cell. My problem is that people have started talking about cells 'effluxing metal', which i do not believe is correct. Unfortunately, my use of English is largely based on instinct, so i cannot contrive a convincing argument against it. I am afraid this phrase will spread throughout the scientific community (as 'quantitate' has) if I do not stifle their creative instinct now. Can anyone offer a grammatical explanation for why this word can't be converted in this way?

#131990 08/24/04 03:06 AM
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
we'd just be wasting our collective time and energy, as there is absolutely nothing in the known universe that will stop this from coming to full flower.

#131991 08/24/04 05:35 AM
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
Efflux is a perfectly innocent noun that got converted into a verb without its consent. As a noun, it describes a process -- the process of effusion -- or the stuff that comes out itself -- the effluent.

There remains hope. The verb form of this noun is intransitive. Therefor, it is the effluent which effuxes, not the container, or, in your case, it is the heavy metal which effluxes, not the cell.

Try this. It may not, as tsuwm wisely observes, save the day nor the language, but it will irritate the hell out of the scientific types who are misusing it, which may be the consolation (and only) prize.

#131992 08/24/04 08:46 AM
W
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
W
In reply to:

Efflux is a perfectly innocent noun that got converted into a verb without its consent. As a noun, it describes a process -- the process of effusion -- or the stuff that comes out itself -- the effluent.