Wordsmith.org
Posted By: THE PROPHETOR! Per se? - 09/17/04 05:35 PM
Hey guys...

First of all I would just like to say hello to you all. I am currently an A-level student (from England) and I will no doubt be posting here often asking for word help.

So here is my first world:

How would you use the world 'per se'? What does it mean?

I have read the dictionary definition and I can't quite get to grips with it.

Thank you for your time...

Jason

Posted By: TheFallibleFiend Re: Per se? - 09/17/04 05:52 PM

I used to read dictionaries a lot, but my poor memory has convinced me the effort is futile. I tend to mirror the usage I percieve around me.

For this word, here are examples of how I might use it:

"Neither programmer nor their creations are, per se, logical."

"Pluto should not be considered a planet, per se, lest we should consider every bit of dust wandering about in our vicinity similarly."

"Life does not require exact reproduction, per se."

k

Posted By: belMarduk Re: Per se? - 09/17/04 06:07 PM
Hi Jason,

Welcome aboard. I'm sure you'l like it.

You might want to pop on over to information and announcement and look in the thread titled "Tips for newcomers." You'll find a lot of useful information there.

I'm not sure what an A-level student means, we don't use those categories here in Québec, Canada, but your writing seems quite good so I'm assuming it means you are in the top level of a grade. So let me turn your question around...how would you use the expression? Or what do you interpret it to mean? You may just be absolutely correct.

(Though I am learning, from being here on the Board, that there are not so many "absolutes" as "subject to interpretation" )

Posted By: Father Steve Re: Per se? - 09/17/04 07:01 PM
In law, we use the phrase "per se" to mean "in and of itself" or "intrinsically".

Posted By: Faldage Re: Per se? - 09/17/04 10:25 PM