Wordsmith.org
Posted By: Dianne Hegemony - 01/25/01 02:46 PM
Hello. I'm new to AWAD and this is my first posting. I recently heard the word, hegemony, that I previously had only seen in print. It's a very strange word. My old standby dictionary didn't give me much info. Can any of you wordies offer details?

Posted By: Alex Williams Re: Hegemony - 01/25/01 03:12 PM
Hello Diane and welcome. I don't have a dictionary in front of me here, so my definition of "hegemony" may be imprecise. I understand the word to refer to a kind of absolute power or dominance, with perhaps a connotation for the psychological or cultural aspects of power, a sort of monopoly of ideas.

For example at http://slate.msn.com/Features/NaderMS/NaderMS.asp you can read an essay by Ralph Nader titled "The Microsoft Menace
Why I'm leading a crusade to stop its drive for cyberspace hegemony."

Posted By: wwh Re: Hegemony - 01/25/01 03:24 PM
I like Alex's definition better than that of my CD dictionary, which I can have running minimized all the time I'm in AWAD. It only cost ten bucks, and I find it a great help not to have to switch to a book.

Posted By: Hyla Re: Hegemony - 01/25/01 03:35 PM
Alex's definition is right on, although the word isn't limited to the psychological or cultural aspects of power or ideas. In international relations theory there exists one of my favorite nonsense-sounding terms: when talking about a global political structure where there is one superpower that keeps things from going completely to pieces (e.g. England in the 19th century, some might say the U.S. in the 20th century), the term used is "hegemonic stability." Always loved the sound of it, and the fact that it probably means nothing it all except to a small group of academics.

I guess Anu is the hegemon of AWAD, eh?

Posted By: tsuwm Re: Hegemony - 01/25/01 03:36 PM