Wordsmith.org
Posted By: shanks Our survey says...? - 10/10/03 05:20 PM
Hi all

Jussy, as we called her, was a giant of a woman (at least to us little minnows in her class in college), and she had, to say the least, her idiosyncrasies. One of them was punctilious, but possibly old-fashioned, pronunciation. Some of her ways in this regard did influence me, and I'm wondering if anybody else uses these pronunciations, or feels guilty for not doing so.

The one in particular I'm interested in is the word trait which Jussy always pronounced 'tray'. I've noticed that in most dictionaries 'tray' and 'trate' are noted. But does anyone today use the silent 't' version any more?

cheer

the sunshine warrior

Posted By: Faldage Re: Our survey says...? - 10/10/03 05:40 PM
AHD4 says it's from Old French into ME.
http://www.bartleby.com/61/4/T0310400.html

I'm no expert on OFr pronunciation (although I have some CDs that may have some singing in that language) but I suspect that a silent t on the end is a modern affectation. But even if it was silent in OFr I see no reason to keep it so in MnE, given its cleansing period in ME.

Posted By: Jackie Re: Our survey says...? - 10/10/03 08:54 PM
Hi, Sweetheart; I have never heard any person who was speaking English pronounce it tray. Though I can see where someone who is a native French speaker might. But I don't think it's correct to drop the T sound in English, because from what I have found, both languages got the word via Latin. Witness: Gurunet-- [Middle English, shot, from Old French, something drawn, shot, from Latin tractus, a drawing out, line. From the Dictionnaire Universel Francophone-- II. 1. Action de tirer, de tracter. Cheval, bête de trait. In my own mind, these do not constitute proof, but I still think I'm right. (!)

Posted By: sjmaxq Re: Our survey says...? - 10/11/03 08:03 AM