Wordsmith.org
Posted By: Max Quordlepleen . - 08/30/00 03:35 AM
Posted By: Jackie Re: Abbreviations and "s" - 08/30/00 03:47 AM
Actually, the contents of drawers has been discussed here.
Either your lady is even more prone to being unconventional than I am, or she lives in a far-removed part of the country. I always hear the term as boxers, and cannot imagine saying " a pair of boxer".

Posted By: Bingley Re: Abbreviations and "s" - 08/30/00 04:49 AM
Maths is the usual term in England, and as far as I know other parts of the UK. I would imagine it is in Australia as well. I don't know what they call it in Canada, but math seems to be the word in the US.

Bingley
Posted By: emanuela Re: Abbreviations and "s" - 08/30/00 06:00 AM
I am a mathematician, and I have always seen "Department of Mathematics" shortened as "Dept of Maths" (in every English speaking country).
Ciao
Emanuela

Posted By: Max Quordlepleen . - 08/30/00 06:14 AM
Posted By: Jackie Re: Abbreviations and "s" - 08/30/00 11:03 AM
Ah, I see. I have always thought that it must be very difficult, and therefore truly wonderful, to get so involved in another culture that you learn all of the little idiosyncrasies of their language.
My hat is off to you brave souls who have done/are attempting that!

Posted By: AnnaStrophic Re: Abbreviations and "s" - 08/30/00 11:42 AM
Right-o, Bingley. In the U.S. it's "math" (I wouldn't even know how to pronounce "maths" without needing a kleenex)

Posted By: apples + oranges Re: Abbreviations and "s" - 08/30/00 01:33 PM
Bingley said he/she doesn't know what they call it in Canada. Well I live in Canada and I call it math.

Posted By: william Re: Abbreviations and "s" - 08/30/00 01:52 PM
apples and oranges, what a wonderful name!
makes me want to eat a piece of fruit, or at least make a cocktail out of one.

>>" a pair of boxer".

this reminds me of the "shopspeak" used by salespeople.