Wordsmith.org
Posted By: wwh Question for JazzO - 02/17/02 02:27 AM
Dear JazzO: in the latest issue of Smithsonian magazine there is an article about Boss Tweed, and the renovation of the big Courthouse he had built: p. 90, center column:

".....28-foot-high ceilings. A spectacular laylight with flowers, birds, frogs and squirrels painted on amber-,ruby-,and emerald-tinted glass has been replicated based on fragments of the original window

I found several sites that mentioned "laylights" but did not give a clear idea of what they are. Please enlighten us.

Posted By: Jazzoctopus Re: Question for JazzO - 02/17/02 02:43 AM
Hmm, I wish I could. Keep in mind I'm by no means an architectural expert yet. I'm only in my second quarter.

I checked the glossary in my huge art history text and laylight wasn't mentioned, but based on the context of the Smithsonian article and the results of a Google search, it sounds as though it's something like a stained glass window in a ceiling.

I have the magazine, so if I remember, I'll ask my art history prof on Tuesday.

Posted By: wwh Re: Question for JazzO - 02/17/02 02:50 AM
Dear JazzO: My guess is that it is a big overhead horizontal window, a skylight. But how could it stay watertight, or hold a heavy snow load?

Posted By: Keiva Re: Question for JazzO - 02/17/02 03:07 AM
I agree, dr. bill, that stained glass would not make a good structural component. But a stained glass window could function as you describe without being a structural component, without having to support any weight of snow. Simply put a skylight (or severaly adjacent skylights) in the structural roof, and place the stained glass just below the skylight(s).

Posted By: of troy Re: Question for JazzO - 02/17/02 03:17 AM