Page 1 of 2 1 2
#57425 02/17/02 02:27 AM
W
wwh Offline OP
Carpal Tunnel
OP Offline
Carpal Tunnel
W
Dear JazzO: in the latest issue of Smithsonian magazine there is an article about Boss Tweed, and the renovation of the big Courthouse he had built: p. 90, center column:

".....28-foot-high ceilings. A spectacular laylight with flowers, birds, frogs and squirrels painted on amber-,ruby-,and emerald-tinted glass has been replicated based on fragments of the original window

I found several sites that mentioned "laylights" but did not give a clear idea of what they are. Please enlighten us.

#57426 02/17/02 02:43 AM
J
old hand
old hand
J
Hmm, I wish I could. Keep in mind I'm by no means an architectural expert yet. I'm only in my second quarter.

I checked the glossary in my huge art history text and laylight wasn't mentioned, but based on the context of the Smithsonian article and the results of a Google search, it sounds as though it's something like a stained glass window in a ceiling.

I have the magazine, so if I remember, I'll ask my art history prof on Tuesday.

#57427 02/17/02 02:50 AM
W
wwh Offline OP
Carpal Tunnel
OP Offline
Carpal Tunnel
W
Dear JazzO: My guess is that it is a big overhead horizontal window, a skylight. But how could it stay watertight, or hold a heavy snow load?

#57428 02/17/02 03:07 AM
K
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
K
I agree, dr. bill, that stained glass would not make a good structural component. But a stained glass window could function as you describe without being a structural component, without having to support any weight of snow. Simply put a skylight (or severaly adjacent skylights) in the structural roof, and place the stained glass just below the skylight(s).

#57429 02/17/02 03:17 AM
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel