Wordsmith.org
Posted By: Rosebud To come or to go???? - 06/22/02 01:30 PM
I am a writer and should know words, but I find myself frequently
> confused about the uses of emigrate and immigrate. Of course, I read
> the definitions in my dictionary, but remain befuddled at times. For
> example, if I am speaking about a person moving into new mental or emotional territory,
> would I say: She emigrated into new territory. OR She immigrated to new
> territory, OR WHAT??? Your opinion would be appreciated! The Rumpled Rose

Posted By: Geoff Re: To come or to go???? - 06/22/02 01:46 PM
Just to add to your confusion, the planning and population statisitcs types use the term, "in-migration" to connote (or is that denote - you're not the only one confused around here!) those who move from one place to another within a state or geographic boundary. Perhaps, since the context of your example is within the character's own head, this relatively new coinage would fit.

Posted By: wwh Re: To come or to go???? - 06/22/02 01:59 PM
Dear Rosebud: emigrate means to leave a country, immigrate means to enter a country. To go from one mental area to another is merely to migrate, to change from one place to another. But migrate means a
rather long journey. A change in pattern of thought might be more like a move on a chess board, or upstairs and downstairs in a house.

Posted By: modestgoddess Re: To come or to go???? - 06/25/02 05:53 AM
emigrate means to leave a country, immigrate means to enter a country

But then, Dr Bill, are both these sentences right?

"I am emigrating to Australia."

"I am immigrating to Australia."

- or should you only say, "I immigrated to Australia," once you have emigrated?!

Let us go in peace to love and serve the board.
Posted By: FishonaBike Coming or Going? - 06/25/02 01:56 PM
Hmmm - if we have Rosebud do we also have a Citizen Kane somewhere?

or should you only say, "I immigrated to Australia," once you have emigrated
I believe so, MG.